Past experiences

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      sybe07
      Spectator

I like to share something personal.

For me it feels like the valueing and deciding system is often out of controll. It is like people with PTSS. What is for person A just a slamming door, just a loud noise, but nothing special, is for someone with PTSS a life threating experience. The mind, the vottapana citta i think, decides, that this noise is life treatening. It decides to stress responses and high alertness. Ofcourse a slamming door isn’t life-treatening but it is experienced that way.

I do experience something similar. I have had some traumatic experiences too, and once the mind starts to make those loaded choices on ordinairy sense-input, it is not easy to correct them. Sounds, images, etc. can become highly loaded while there is really no reason. Ofcourse, I know that there is no reason for stress, but vottapana citta does not know! It is hard to deal with this.

Although extreme, still i think this is how mind works. Most of what we experience is mixed with the past and mixed with emotions, tendencies, thoughts that were there in the past too.

It is amazing how daily ordinairy sense experiences can be so differently experienced by different people, but also how it can differ in myself from time to time.

I can see this valueing and deciding system on sense-input in a citta vitthi is not in controll. One does not decide deliberately to so much stress, hyperalertness, fear etc. In some way we are all ‘victims’ of our past, owners of our past behaviour. Yes, I know ‘victim’ is not the right word or approach but in some way we are.

I think it is very truthful in buddha-dhamma that more than a matter of morality versus immorality, behaviour is a matter of knowledge and vision versus lack of knowledge and vision. There is no immorality wihout lack of knowledge and vision. In the end there are no bad or evil and good persons, only ignorant and wise persons.