Starting on the Path Even without Belief in Rebirth

August 19, 2016

1. After publishing two posts in a subsection entitled “New Approach to Meditation”, I started realizing more aspects of the importance of this approach.  So, I have started a whole new section, “Living Dhamma” which lays out a step-by-step Path from fundamentals. Please read the first two posts there before reading this post.

  • There are many people, including some Buddhists, who have difficulty in connecting with the idea of rebirth.
  • Rather than making the idea of rebirth as a prerequisite to start the practice, one can start practicing by comprehending another type of suffering that the Buddha revealed to the world.

2. The Buddha revealed at least two types of suffering that are unknown to the world (and taught how to get rid of both PERMANENTLY).

  • Even though the future suffering associated with the rebirth process is the one that is mostly highlighted in the literature, there is a suffering that we all experience in this life, without even knowing about it.
  • That first type of suffering that we all experience is the incessant distress that we all feel (but may not be even aware of). One starts feeling the nirāmisa sukha when one temporarily suppresses this incessant distress.
  • In a way, it is necessary to first to realize the existence of this first type of suffering, at least suppress it, and experience the niramisa sukha that results from it ((as X did).
  • That will provide the initial faith in Buddha Dhamma, and also enable the mind to get to samādhi and help comprehend the anicca nature. That will lead to the next step of comprehending the second type of suffering associated with the rebirth process.

3. Rather than writing a few more posts on this, I decided to present this idea in the audio format. I have never delivered a “desanā” previously, but hopefully, you will be able to grasp the concept. You need to adjust the volume control on your computer:

The Hidden Suffering that We All Can Understand

  1. Here are the links to the posts mentioned in the above desanā:

Posts on the fundamentals of meditation:

1. Introduction to Buddhist Meditation

2. The Basics in Meditation

3. The Second Level

Posts on the “incessant distress”:

The Incessant Distress (“Pīḷana”) – Key to Dukkha Sacca

Need to Experience Suffering in Order to Understand it?

Post on the five hindrances (pancanivarana):

Key to Calming the Mind – The Five Hindrances

Ānāpānasati Bhavana:

6. Anäpänasati Bhävanä (Introduction)

Satipaṭṭhāna Bhavana:

Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta – Structure

Step-by-Step Progression in the Path:

Buddha Dhamma – In a Chart

Maha Chattarisaka Sutta (Discourse on the Great Forty)

Next in the series,What Are Kilesa (Mental Impurities)? – Connection to Cetasika“.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email