Gandhabba and Bhava dasaka

• This topic has 9 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by Lal.
Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      DanielSt
      Participant

Dear Lal, dear friends,

This is my first post on the forum, but I have been a reader for the past year. In that time, I have learnt so much, profited so much from your webpage, that it cannot be really measured in anything. Thank you, Lal.
      I am also a physicist (or have been) and so I can easily connect to your way of thinking.
      Thr more I learn, the more I am also able to share with my friends, and today we had a Dhamma discussion about the Gandhabba.

I read one of the posts abput Gandhabba, namely this one:

Gandhabba – Only in Human and Animal Realms

I noticed a small thing: You say that in Brahma realms, there is a Bhava dasaka. When I came to that point, I was a bit unsure and skipped it. When I checked Ven. Bodhi’s Book on Abhidhamma, it is mentioned that there is no Bhava dasaka (sex property) in the Brahma realm.

And one more question:
      Here in Myanmar I heard about a few cases of people that seem to have had a gender change from man to woman from their past life to this life. I was wondering: According to my understanding of Abhidhamma, and your explanation, a gender change can only happen with a cuti-patisandhi transition, or, a new bhava. The same holds for a transition from dihetuka to trihetuka (two-rooted Bhavanga to three-rooted Bhavanga). Is that correct?
      Since you argue that a human bhava is very rare, it should be assumed that such gender changes should not happen very frequently.

I am looking forward to hear from you all.

Daniel

Lal
      Keymaster

Hello DanielSt,

You wrote: “I checked Ven. Bodhi’s Book on Abhidhamma, it is mentioned that there is no Bhava dasaka (sex property) in the Brahma realm.”

Could you give the page number in the book?