Post on Dhammapada 21 / Appamādō Amata Padam….

Tagged: ,

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
    • #29717
      Tobias G

      Appamādō Amata Padam….

      In #4 four factors are stated: āyusa (age), vaṇṇa (lively), sukha (comfort), bala (ability).
      Does bala also contain the satara indriya (sati, saddha, panna, samadhi, viriya)?

    • #29724

      Hello Tobias!

      Those four factors help in one’s efforts to attain Nibbana. They are due to past puñña kamma. I just added a reference to that post.

      The FIVE factors sati, saddha, panna, samadhi, viriya are called Pañca Indriya. They are discussed at, “Pañca Indriya and Pañca Bala – Five Faculties and Five Powers.”

      Pañca Indriya needs to be cultivated.
      – Of course, those four factors āyu (age), vaṇṇa (lively), sukha (comfort), bala (ability) help cultivate the Pañca Indriya.

      The Pali word for age is āyu. I had used the Sinhala word āyusa. I made that revision too.

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.