Question on Dukkha Vedana

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      usitha
      Participant

Hello so I’ve been practicing for a couple of months and I feel the Niwima effect. As Rhaga, Dwesha, Moha decrease. I maintain the 8 precepts with ease now. I’ve definitely never been calmer and joyful. But there are moments I realize, I am slightly unhappy. Doing Vidarshana, I realized the aswada i was looking for was more Niramisa Sukkha, once i applied the paticasumpupadaya to it, I saw how stupid I was being. Cause its a happiness arising from letting go, its contradictory to want it badly. Amazingly, meditating on this, the dukkha Vedana slowly dissolved.
      Anyways I reading today that theres are only two types of Vedana.
      1) Karma Vipaka – only felt in the body (kaya)
      2) Smphassa ja vedana

That means absolutely any sort of suffering which has nothing to do with the body, is to do with the second. And that means, we are holding on to the word somewhere and looking for an aswadaya? That means there is a part somewhere we haven’t properly contemplated anicca?
      Because there is no way, to get a mental dukkha vedana from a karma Vipaka?
      I hope the question is clear! thankyou! :)

Lal
      Keymaster

Hello Usitha,

Welcome to the forum! Glad to hear about your progress.

Yes. Any current suffering via the body is due to past kamma. We need to bear any such suffering with upekkha. Of course, one MUST engage in all possible remedies like medical help, good exercise, healthy foods, etc.

As you said, it is smphassa-ja-vedana or the vedana that we create in our minds that lead to FUTURE suffering.
      – Yes. We create them because of the ignorance (or absence of full clarity) of the anicca, dukkha, anatta nature.

Yes. All mental dukkha vedana (domanassa vedana) are mind-made or smphassa-ja-vedana.

By the way, the steps in the Paticca Samuppada need to be understood in this wider context.