Iccha

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      gopinadh
      Participant

Namo tassa bhagavato arahato samma sambuddhassa,

Iccha

Ichha in our vernacular is used for will(ing), wish, desire.

Some examples:

1. When I have to take an oath or declare before someone: I say, It is with “iccha” I gave my property to X. (here it is used in the sense of willingly)
      2. I have no icchas – Here used in the sense of “I have no wishes” , I am content in Life etc

I would request you to be patient and bear with me,  as I am not technically well equipped, and I write from a perspective which is based on our own day to day life, backed up with faith in Dhamma. I write this,  to discuss how  ingrained “Ichha” is, its complexity and how it can be used as a meditative tool to understand Dhamma and progress.

I wanted to write about Ichha from nutriment point of view. Consciousness as subjectivity,  consists of “taking in”.

Thus,  when we so stand as conscious beings,  we are constantly “taking in.” The natural inclination of “taking in” seems to consist of :  “to have a like(ing)” to “have an intention” “a wish” towards that which is being (or going to be)  taken in.

We always sit down for a meal in the anticipation of the meal being tasty. At least Palatable. This is Physical Ahara. Same with standing as Conscious Beings.  

If seen in this manner,  Consciousness = natural inclination to like/wish= which cannot be in the ultimate sense be fulfilled= Dukkha.

When we say “this is Dukkha” , I do not see any reason why anyone needs to be apologetic. Even if by “this” we mean “all this”.

I would like to contend that the insight, awareness , that “this is Dukkha” is itself the beyond, the untanglement.

However,  coming back, I want to present the ingrained “Ichha” in one more , relatable sense, which is the natural inclination    to “maintain”.

Have we ever seen ourselves standing in Malls, queues, or waiting outside restaurants?