Consciousness (Mind v Brain) Citta Vithi

• This topic has 13 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by Lal.
Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Dipobhasadhamma
      Participant

Dearest Lal,

Thank you for your explanation of Bhauddhayā. I too like this Sinhalese word. I agree that it is more apropos for describing a follower of the Buddha’s teachings. Buddha-ist seems to me a rather political statement like Buddha-ism. Also, please excuse this unusually long post, but the target of the topic required a thorough explanation in order for you to understand where I am going with it.

Now, with regard to the title of this post: I am attempting to write a paper about the Brain/Consciousness correlation. This, of course, will require an enormous amount of research. On the scientific side I am studying Roger Penrose, Anil Seth, David Chalmers, Daniel Hoffman and many others. On the Dhamma side, your posts, Richard Gombrich, Bhikkhu Bodhi, to name a few.

My goal is to present a viable hypothesis based on the following: An examination of consciousness from the scientific, and philosophical disciplines, which considers what we already know in comparison to the teachings of Gotama Buddha.

Since science has determined that the brain is not consciousness nor does the brain cause consciousness, where does consciousness come from? This is the puzzle to end all puzzles. What is the connection between the brain and consciousness? Science believes that a gap exists between the brain and consciousness. What is this gap? What is the structure of this gap? What defines it? How does it operate? What are the components that activate the connection between brain and consciousness?

Any answer would have to contain a viable theoretical structure; a theoretical structure that addressed most, if not all, consciousness-related questions. Such a theoretical framework would need logical probabilities that made sense and could be applied to all aspects of consciousness.