Animal reincarnation

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      yann
      Participant

First of all : Hello and thank you for this great work of yours.

It is greatly appreciated and it makes me like buddhism again. I have always been interested in spiritual matters, and through most than a decade of questioning and free-thinking, i appeared to align myself more and more on the buddhist understanding of life. Therefore i started learning about buddhism more seriously because its teachings matched my understanding of life and even enhanced them.

However i still feel instinctively at odd with many aspects of modern buddhism (at least what is taught in the western world).
      I have serious issues believing that a human could reincarnate as a worm, just after his death. While i don’t think that is an absolute impossibility, my instincts told me something is off.

To clarify your teachings, your understanding is that at the death of the physical body, the mental body survives and most likely attach itself to a womb matching is own karma. Unless the mental body comes to an end, human reincarnation is the most likely event due to mental attachments / cravings / aversion.
      To reach a “higher” plane post mortem, one must have sufficient positive karma and “dhammic” tendencies in his mind, so the mental body does not attach itself to human womb. On the opposite, constantly feeding instincts and animal tendencies, while disparaging morality, could be the cause of a downfall of the bhava toward less evolved lifeforms or hellish planes.
      Am i correct?

I will read most of your website so maybe that will clarify things for me.

Also just a tip, you should high-ligh the lexical pages because they are hard to find on the home page. I spend a few hours reading and browsing the internet for pali translations while the lexical was there all along.
      Regards

Lal
      Keymaster

Thank you, yann for your comments.