Reply To: Different types of Buddhism

Sammasambodhi Gami

The topic of this thread is “Different types of Buddhism”.  However, according to my understanding there are no “different types of Buddhism”. Buddhism has only one type and that is to get rid of all sufferings and attain Nibbana.

Lord Buddha didn’t teach Hinayana, Mahayana or Vajrayana. These branches were made up or created by philosophers and other religious people after the Parinibbana of Lord Buddha. 

Buddhism or Buddha Dhamma means “a Dhamma which teaches how to uproot all types of bhava” (Buddha= Bhava + uddha). Bhava roughly means “field” (of existence). There are three categories of bhava: kama bhava, rupa bhava, arupa bhava. 

The goal of a Buddhist is to attain liberation from this suffering filled Sansara. This liberation is called Nibbana. Lord Buddha defined Nibbana as “ragakkhayo Nibbanan, dosakkhayo Nibbanan, mohakkhayo Nibbanan” (removal of raag, dosa, moha is Nibbana).

This liberation can be achieved only through wisdom (panna) which comes through the inner realisation of “Paticca Samuppada/4 Noble Truths/Anicca,Dukkha,Anatta“.

The factors needed to achieve this are collectively called the “37 factors of Awakening” (sattis Bodhipakkhiya Dhamma).

I hope it gives a very brief summary of what actually “Buddhism” is.

2 users thanked author for this post.