Reply To: Sakadagami Stage


Greetings! Yash RS,

According to the book “Guide to the Study of Theravada Buddhism Book 4” on the Reviewing Thought Process (Paccavekkhana Vīthi) (page 160 to 161) is as pasted below with my comment beneath it.

Reviewing Thought Process (Paccavekkhana Vīthi):

Once jhāna or the Path consciousness (Magga) has been attained it requires the yogi to look back on his attainment for clear confirmation. He should review the jhāna factors and for each jhāna factor a thought process occurs with five sense sphere (kāma) javana cittas.

Five jhāna factors are:
(1) Vitakka (Initial Application)
(2) Vicāra (Sustained Application)
(3) Pīti (Joy)
(4) Sukha (Happiness)
(5) ekagattā (One Pointedness)

Ex – B Bc Bu Mn J J J J J B
B – Bhavaṅga
Bc – Bhavaṅga calana
Bu – Bhavaṅga uppaccheda
Mn – Manodvārāvajjana
J – Jhāna

In the case of Magga Vīthi there will be five reviewing thought processes after the attainment of first magga. Each Paccavekkhana Vīthi will reflect on :

(1) Magga achieved
(2) Fruition consciousness
(3) Nibbāna
(4) Eradicated Defilements (Kilesa)
(5) Balance Defilements to be eradicated.

There will be five Paccavekkhana Vīthi after Sotāpatti, Sakadāgāmi and Anāgāmi magga. With regard to Arahantta Magga there will be only four Paccavekkhana Vīthi without the last one (Number Five) mentioned above.

My comment: It would seem that the yogi should be well verse in jhāna to be able to review thought process. So, even though, the yogi has attained the Sotāpatti, Sakadāgāmi, Anāgāmi and Arahatta magga (path), the yogi would not be able to review the five reviewing thought processes listed above unless the yogi is well verse in jhāna. This is only my opinion, unless those with path moment is able to state otherwise.

With mettā, Seng Kiat