Reply To: Kiriya Citta

dosakkhayo
Participant

Now I can see I have little knowledge of Citta Vithi and Abhidhamma. I didn’t know that Tadarammana citta could be replaced with Bhavanga citta before.

According to #44223, Lal said:

Up to the V (votthapana) citta, all cittas are vipaka citta. They only have only mano sankhara.

• At the votthapana citta, a decision is made regarding how to respond to the sensory input. If attachment happened (due to one’s gati), then seven javana cittas run to respond accordingly.
  • The first two of those javana cittas only have mano sankhara. That means vitakka/vicara have not arisen yet.
  • Abhisankhara accumulation (that can bring vipaka in future lives)  starts with vitakka/vicara in the third javana citta. Then kaya abhisankhara generation is with the fifth javana citta.
  • Thus, vaci and kaya abhisankhara are mostly associated with the javana citta #3 through #5 and weaken in #6 and #7.
  • I just realized something that I need to look into. Kammic energy created in the first javana citta can bring vipaka in this life only. But #2 through #6 can bring vipaka in future lives, and #7 can bring vipaka only in the next life. That means javana citta #2 is strong enough to bring vipaka in future lives. Can that be due to mano sankhara? I will look into that.
  • It is time to rewrite the above post by breaking it into at least two posts. A lot of information needs to be added to make it clear and consistent.

A few months ago, I read it in the forum and reasoned two things.

A. Is there a mechanism like place value in citta vithi?

ex) AB BC BU PD CV Sam San V _ _ _ _ _ _ _ T T

If so, mano sankhara can be all of those places. (_ _ _ _ _ _ _)

Vaci sankhara can be from the 3rd place. (X X _ _ _ _ _)

And kaya sankhara can be from the 5th place. (X X X X _ _ _)

B. If the A is true, could the logic of place value also apply in the case of kiriya citta?

ex) AB BC BU PD CV Sam San V _ _ _ _ _ _ _ B B