Reply To: Taking Back my old claim based on newfound awareness

    Greetings! Christian,

    In the A Comprehensive Manual of Abhidhamma, under Compendium of Categories, at Compendium of Mixed Categories under Faculties (§18 – page 273). Listed are the 22 faculties as below.

    Bāvīsat’ indriyāni: cakkhundriyaṃ, sotindriyaṃ, ghānindriyaṃ, jivhindriyaṃ, kāyindriyaṃ, itthindriyaṃ, purisindriyaṃ, jīvitindriyaṃ, manindriyaṃ, sukhindriyaṃ, dukkhindriyaṃ, somanassindriyaṃ, domanassindriyaṃ, upekkhindriyaṃ, saddhindriyaṃ, viriyindriyaṃ, satindriyaṃ, samādhindriyaṃ, paññindriyaṃ, anaññātaññassāmītindriyaṃ, aññindriyaṃ, aññātāvindriyaṃ.
    Twenty-two faculties: (1) the eye faculty, (2) the ear faculty, (3) the nose faculty, (4) the tongue faculty, (5) the body faculty, (6) the femininity faculty, (7) the masculinity faculty, (8) the life faculty, (9) the mind faculty, (10) the pleasure faculty, (11) the pain faculty, (12) the joy faculty, (13) the displeasure faculty, (14) the equanimity faculty, (15) the faith faculty, (16) the energy faculty, (17) the mindfulness faculty, (18) the concentration faculty, (19) the wisdom faculty, (20) the faculty, “I will know the unknown,” (21) the faculty of final knowledge, (22) the faculty of one who has final knowledge.

    Item (20) (21) and (22) are the wisdom faculties (paññindriaya) of Lokuttara (supramundane) not Lokiya (mundane). While the item (19) is the wisdom faculty of the Lokiya (mundane).

    Wisdom faculty (paññindriaya) of Lokuttara (supramundane) Chart

    Download the Wisdom faculty (paññindriaya) of Lokuttara (supramundane) Chart for better viewing.

    According to the book “Guide to the Study of Theravada Buddhism Book 4” on the Reviewing Thought Process (Paccavekkhana Vīthi) (page 160 to 161) is as pasted below with my comment beneath it.

    Reviewing Thought Process (Paccavekkhana Vīthi):

    Once jhāna or the Path consciousness (Magga) has been attained it requires the yogi to look back on his attainment for clear confirmation. He should review the jhāna factors and for each jhāna factor a thought process occurs with five sense sphere (kāma) javana cittas.

    Five jhāna factors are:
    (1) Vitakka (Initial Application)
    (2) Vicāra (Sustained Application)
    (3) Pīti (Joy)
    (4) Sukha (Happiness)
    (5) Ekagattā (One Pointedness)

    Ex – B Bc Bu Mn J J J J J B
    B – Bhavaṅga
    Bc – Bhavaṅga calana
    Bu – Bhavaṅga uppaccheda
    Mn – Manodvārāvajjana
    J – Jhāna

    In the case of Magga Vīthi there will be five reviewing thought processes after the attainment of first magga. Each Paccavekkhana Vīthi will reflect on :

    (1) Magga achieved
    (2) Fruition consciousness
    (3) Nibbāna
    (4) Eradicated Defilements (Kilesa)
    (5) Balance Defilements to be eradicated.

    There will be five Paccavekkhana Vīthi after Sotāpatti, Sakadāgāmi and Anāgāmi magga. With regard to Arahantta Magga there will be only four Paccavekkhana Vīthi without the last one (Number Five) mentioned above.

    My comment: It would seem that the yogi should be well verse in jhāna to be able to review thought process. So, even though, the yogi has attained the Sotāpatti, Sakadāgāmi, Anāgāmi and Arahatta magga (path), the yogi would not be able to review the five reviewing thought processes listed above unless the yogi is well verse in jhāna. This is only my opinion, unless those with path moment is able to state otherwise.

    With mettā, Seng Kiat