Is it True that Nibbana’s taste is in the Heart?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Waisaka
      Participant

Hi Lal, First of all, let me introduce myself. I am from Indonesia; my background is that I don’t speak English, so I read your writings via Google Translate.

Even though the meaning is not very clear to me, I understand it well enough.

Maybe my good karma vipaka was bearing fruit until I found your website. I studied Theravada for several years from the videos of Bhante’s lectures in my country, everything went very well, I meditated quite easily to achieve calm even though it was only 5-15 minutes of meditation duration.. In the last few months, I have felt something unexplainable in my heart; I can’t explain it; it’s like upekkha but not upekkha. It’s like being unconditioned, like calm water with no ripples, no joy/sorrow… After I found your writings about Anapanasati. , tilakkhana, sotapanna, make it more intense. .. I have almost awakened my sila, my panna may also be developing, only my formal meditation is less than optimal. I rely on understanding/panna to maintain sila, because I know that doing bad deeds is useless. 

This is my purpose in registering on this forum: to ask directly about my feelings.. 🙏 

So the essence of my question is, is the object of Nibbana accessed through the heart or mind?

Because I think Nibbana cannot be thought of, it can only be felt, is that true?  

And one more question: Does formal Samatha meditation pay attention to the breath? Does it function to strengthen the sati muscle so that we can maintain mental and physical behavior when bad thoughts come so we can avoid them? 

Is this useless? 

Or is this just an illusion of my feelings? There is something strange in my heart. Sorry if my question is strange. 

Your answer may help to clarify my situation. 

Warm greetings, Thanks 😊🙏

• This topic was modified 2 days ago by Waisaka.
      • This topic was modified 2 days ago by Lal.