Three Marks of Existence – English Discourses

February 3, 2018

Three Marks of Existence or Three Characteristics of Nature (anicca, dukkha, anatta) are discussed in detail in a series of four discourses. These are based on the first two suttas (Dhammacakka Pavattana Sutta and the Anatta Lakkhana Sutta) that the Buddha delivered to the five ascetics right after attaining Enlightenment.

  • Only an essential outline is provided in the four discourses. There are four topics (for each discourse) in the the “discussion forum” under the forum Three Marks of Existence Discourses, where one can ask any questions/ express opinions.
  • No question is too simple or too hard. We can find more details in other suttas or in Abhidhamma.

Discourse 1 – Nicca, Sukha, Atta (Before understanding anicca, dukkha, anatta, it is necessary to understand the opposites).


Key Relevant Posts:

What is Kamma? – Is Everything Determined by Kamma?

Could Bodily Pain Be Due to Causes Other Than Kamma Vipaka?

Saññā – What It Really Means

Paticca Samuppāda – “Pati+ichcha”+”Sama+uppāda

Bhava and Bhavanga – Simply Explained!


Discourse 2 – Icca, Nicca, Anicca (February 10, 2018)


Key Relevant Posts:

How to Cultivate the Anicca Saññā – II

Correct Meaning of Vacī Sankhāra

Viññāna – What It Really Means

What is Intention in Kamma?


Discourse 3 – Distorted Perceptions or Saññā Vipallāsa (February 19, 2018)


Key Relevant Posts:

Micca Ditthi, Gandhabba, and Sotapanna Stage

Print Friendly, PDF & Email